Log in

The 87th Texas Legislative Session

Dates: January 12, 2021 to May 31, 2021


The 87th Texas Legislature is a 140 day meeting in which state law can be changed.  It only meets during odd-numbered years and is one of the most difficult legislatures in which to pass legislation. 

The Texas House of Representatives consists of 150 State Representatives and is lead by Speaker of the House Dade Phelan.  The Texas Senate consists of 31 State Senators and is lead by Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick.  

In order for a bill to become law, it must pass both chambers of the Texas Legislature and be signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott.  The typical life cycle of a bill involves being filed, passing its assigned committee, passing both chambers, and being sent to the Governor's desk.  Only 20% of filed bills normally reach the Governor.  


We are the public policy advocate for the Texas EMS professional.  We represent the interests of the 70,000+ individuals making up the Texas EMS workforce. 


The best way to contact ATEMSP is to email:


© 2020 Association of Texas EMS Professionals

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software